Ligo Haibun Challenge – Lost Moments

There was a point of time in my childhood when I coveted ice-creams sold in streets. Despite constant allusion to the aspect that they were unhygienic, my fascination did not diminish. I was one of the ‘regular customers’ and a favourite with the vendor. This could be due to the fact that I never complained about the weekly rise in the ice-cream prices. The other customers were some kids, a nanny with a pram and a few old folks. There was a pleasure in the unruly crowd and the banter surrounding the ice-cream cart, which is absent in the high-profile ice-cream parlours.

Strawberry cones

each scoop

melts into the soul

 

ligo-challenge_logo

36 thoughts on “Ligo Haibun Challenge – Lost Moments

    • True. And people do survive after eating ‘unhygenic’ icecreams while there are those who fall sick after some minor lapse in cleanliness..Guess being too careful kind of weakens your immunity system…

  1. Great response to the challenge, Nightlake. One of the happiest summers of my life was spent selling ice cream from a cart on a street corner in a small town in Montana. Such happy clientele! I could relate to your haiku as well. Nicely done.

    • It should have been fun selling icecreams and to look at the eager faces when they come to you..You should have been very popular with the children:) Thank you so much for reading and this comment

  2. Lovely. Reminds me of my own childhood waiting for the tinkling of the bell announcing the arrival of the ice cream truck in the neighborhood. We wouldn’t always be allowed to buy something, and that made those times that we were given a dollar all the more special. Wonderful story and perfect haiku. I enjoyed it.

  3. Evocative, simple and wonderful.
    The highlight of AnElephant’s life in recent years has been his weekly ice cream time with Jack, who recently had his eighth birthday.
    Thank you.

  4. I scream, you scream, we all scream for Ice Cream!!!
    A favorite chant in our house. 🙂
    Please do let me know (e-mail or anyway) when the next haibun challenge is up. I can never seem to find it in one regular place at anyone time. I thought it came up on Friday’s….

    • Thank you for the comment on this post, Jules:) Well, the haibun challenge is usually up on fridays or saturdays; to be found in Pirate, Penny or my blog. One of us may be late in posting due to the weekend workload :)) Saw that you had already posted your haibun. Good going:) Cheers

      • I do try to include all host links, but sometimes I – I am unable as time permits to go back to do so. I do have all three of you book marked. I just have to change your bookmark location so It is easier to find you all 🙂

        Once school starts and I am watching my grandchildren I most likely will not be able to look for the ligo haibun until at least Satrudays 🙂

        Thank you.

      • Hi Jules, Hope you still participate in the challenge during Saturdays/Sundays once the school starts, as we enjoy reading your haibun. And hopefully, you also find it a constructive entertainment? It is fine to include just one host link, so that your new readers know that a challenge is taking place. If not, just add it to the link collection. And don’t miss the bookmark location:)) Thank you

Leave a Reply

