Ligo Haibun Challenge – Illusion

I looked at the vast beach below. Sparkling in green, the water took in the joy of the land, reflecting the crowd of happy faces. Children ran with balloons, anxious mothers watched them while quiet toddlers built castles in the sand. Lovers sat behind trees, gazing into the each other’s eyes, the music of sea between them. The waves watched everything and glistened with their happiness.

I looked at the green walls in my well-furnished office and shuddered at the barren land below. My colleague typed away in his mechanical style, oblivious to the maddening silence.

Thriving and well-fed

yet bound in a narrow space

fish in Aquarium

Written for the Ligo Haibun Challenge. Pirate and Penny are the other hosts of this challenge. Do share your own haibun with us and enjoy the contribution by other writers.

ligo-challenge_logo

26 thoughts on “Ligo Haibun Challenge – Illusion

  1. awwww I think this is sweet! Also gives me guilt because I looked over at my fish bowl and still cannot figure out where one went. 😦 Not sure if it was suicide or cat attack.

Leave a Reply

