Ligo Haibun Challenge – Away from Home

The Sun

The bitter hungry sun bursts from the sky, malignantly burning everything in sight. This reminds me of my hometown, But, the sun is the only common factor. Everything else is foreign to me – the order, cleanliness and shining roads. People are friendly and the doors are open, but their hearts are unfortunately closed to me. I do not long for the muddy roads of my hometown, but just the sense of belonging.

Foreign shores

crude closeness wins over

distant politeness

41 thoughts on “Ligo Haibun Challenge – Away from Home

  1. I read you often in my email…but this one just asked for a visit personally. I love it. It has anger seething under the surface, and the final haiku cinches it tight. What a gorgeous piece if writing.
    I read quite a few for this week, and this one so far tips my list.

  2. Very intriguing – I agree about the understated, polite ‘despair’ – crucially their hearts are closed, and this sums up so much about living away from one’s home area. I like these kind of haibun very much.

    • Thank you, Pirate. You know, even if everything is fine, some minor thing would rankle you.. It is the complaining nature of human mind, I suppose, which is reflected in this haibun:) Thank you so much

  3. Moving and truly, truly excellently written Padmini. I will insist that this be one of the honorable mentions my dear friend. This is an outstanding haibun! I believe the very best haibuns do come from the heart, dear one! xx

  4. This is wonderful but makes me a little sad for my virtual friend who is an expat from her home. Kind of reminds me of the Accidental Tourist in some ways. I hope you will get to visit your parents this summer Nightlake 🙂

  5. Wonderful. I love the exposure of it. You bear your soul. It’s palpable and visceral. Yes, that acceptance we all long for. I know the feeling having lived as an ex-pat for awhile, and even in my own country moving around. (And thank you for the recognition last week. I’m learning from the best, as evidenced here.)

      • Oh my, I’m not sure what you mean. I intended only praise for your work which I very much admire. So, yes, I guess it did come out more strongly than I would have wished. The last thing I’d want to do is offend in any way. In these last couple of weeks I have come to love this community, love at first write, you might say. Please, forgive me, for the unintended offense. I only meant to convey how moving your words are.

      • Oh Steph. I just meant that my haibun has come out more strongly than intended. I am sorry that I conveyed the wrong impression in my previous comment. Of course, you only appreciated and how can that offend anybody? I was just speaking about my narrative and certainly did not mean anything else. Do pls continue to be a part of this community. and also visit my blog, if you’d like to. I’d be more clear in my comments from now on.

  6. Leave it to me and my insecurities to misinterpret a comment. I thought you meant my comment was a bit much. I’ll get to know everyone. And certainly I would very much like to get to know you better. I’ll be back time and again to visit you. I very much admire your work. Cheers!

  7. Like the juxtaposition of cleanliness with the superficiality of politeness. Really like the image of the hungry burning sun watching it all, perhaps in a supercilious way?

  8. “the sun is the only common factor” – I could feel the angst of the foreigner, grasping for some common ground – love that you gave it in the atmosphere instead, where one would have to reach high to grasp

Leave a Reply

