Another Precious Life

He bought me from a village fair

Marvelled at my wool so rare

And fed me with love and care

I bleated my gratitude

Flourished under his concern

Played with his children

 

One day I realized his farce

When he shot his horse

The same one he had patted

Praised and petted

 

Then I saw him bargain

Greed in eyes

Money in hands

He gave me no look

As I was pushed into the truck

Crowded with sheep my size

We bleated away

Pleading for mercy

And I understood the world

Where the weak are trampled

Where strength and money

Overtake kindness and humanity

And I came of age

A few moments before my impending death

Leave a Reply

